Salthill Devon lift FAI Umbro WU16 Cup in nine goal thriller


Salthill Devon lift FAI Umbro WU16 Cup in nine goal thriller

Peamount United 3 - 6 Salthill Devon. The goals flowed liberally at Tolka Park to make for a very entertaining 2015 FAI Umbro Women’s U16 Cup final.
26th Apr 2015

Salthill Devon took the lead three times only for Peamount to respond within minutes of each goal. However, the deadlock was broken in the second half with a long range goal from Salthill’s Heather Payne, a wonderful solo effort from Sadhbh Doyle, and a tenacious Lucia Lobato rebound in the dying moments to seal a well-deserved 6-3 win for the Galway girls.

Salthill opened the scoring when the game was only seven minutes old; Melissa McGreen volleying from twelve yards to the delight of the Galway visitors but celebrations were short lived when just one minute later, Peamount’s Naima Chemaou came in from the right and looped the ball confidently over Ria McPhilbin to draw level.

The match continued at a high tempo with Salthill’s Sadhbh Doyle and Peamount’s Naima Chemaou both forcing saves at either end.  Salthill’s second came from a Lauryn O’Callaghan own goal when she was unlucky to get on the wrong side of a Doireann Fahey cross.

Once again Peamount picked themselves up thanks to Chemaou's deflected shot to bring the sides level at half time.

Second half substitute, Lucia Lobato, took just three minutes to find the net for Salthill Devon after Naoisha McAloon failed to control a low cross, allowing Lobato to force her way across the line. Once again Peamount responded in style when Doireann Fahey cut back to find Lulu Masterson whose effort left Satlhill goalkeeper, McPhiblin, with no chance.

In the last thirty minutes, Salthill Devon found another gear, and thanks to goals from Heather Payne, Sadhbh Doyle and Lucia Lobato, cruised past a tiring Peamount to lift the Cup in some style.

Peamount: McAloon, McEntee, Robinson (Martin 49), Ni She, Finnegan, Farrelly, Chemaou, O’Callaghan, Kelly, Masterson, Fahey (Smith 68)

Salthill Devon:  Mulvey McPhiblin, Honan, McNevin, Hengerer M, Lynah, Coyne, Payne, Doyle, McGreen, Hengerer L, Timon (Lobato 40)