Limerick District League come out on top


Limerick District League come out on top

After losing two finals in the last three years, the Limerick District League won their first New Balance FAI Youth Inter League Cup title since 2004 when getting the better of the Waterford District League at Jackman Park.
21st Apr 2019

Limerick District League 3-2 Waterford District League


The hosts had a goal ruled out on four minutes when Paudie Hartigan's finish was judged to be offside in the eyes of assistant referee John Philpott, but they were celebrating the lead goal on 11 minutes. 

Niall McSweeney handled the ball on the left-side of the penalty area and Limerick midfielder Kyle Duhig beat Kyle Gahan with a cracking free kick from 20 yards. 

Waterford were back on level terms two minutes later when Michael Brennan sent over a corner kick from the right that saw Liam Barber power a header past Limerick keeper Kevin Walsh from six yards. 

Limerick regained their lead one minute before the half time whistle when Tyrique Leamy got free down the left to cross for Jorge Gostavo to finish from eight yards. 

Gostavo scored an absolute peach of a third goal for his side on 61 minutes that left Waterford with a mountain to climb when he beat Kyle Gahan with an exquisite strike from 30 yards that found the top left-corner of the net. 

Although Anthony Brown grabbed a second goal for Waterford, heading home Brennan's free kick on 87 minutes, there was to be no denying the Limerick District League a deserved cup crown. 

A delighted Limerick captain Ewan O'Brien was presented with the cup by Mick Hanley, with two-goal hero Jorge Gostavo picking up the man of the match accolade. 

Limerick District League: Kevin Walsh, Frankie Herr, Scott Kirwan, Craig Carew, Darren Collins, Kyle Duhig, Jorge Gostavo, Ewan O’Brien, Tyrique Leamy, Jamie Greeves (Shay McCarthy 82), Paudie Hartigan (Tommy Canty 70).

Waterford District League: Kyle Gahan, Niall McSweeney, Michael Brennan, Liam Barber, Anthony Brown, Peter Yaciuk O’Connor, Conor Butler, Stephen Imiren, Isaac Johnson, Billy O’Connor (Victor Maduweise 65), John Kavanagh

Referee: Alan McDonagh (Cork).