Kennedy Cup quarter-finalists confirmed after Day 2


Kennedy Cup quarter-finalists confirmed after Day 2

The Dublin and District Schoolboy League (DDSL) will face the Cork Schoolboy League in the pick of a mouth-watering quarter-final line-up at the 2018 SFAI New Balance Kennedy Cup at the University of Limerick on Wednesday.
12th Jun 2018

Both the holders, the DDSL, and Cork, won each of their three group fixtures and neither side has conceded a goal to date.

The DDSL followed an emphatic 7-0 victory over South Tipperary at lunchtime on Tuesday with a 2-0 success over Athlone that evening, when Alex O'Brien and Matthew Brennan netted the goals to seal a date with the Leesiders.

Cork also maintained their 100% record, beating Waterford 2-0 in their final group fixture with goals from Jamie Dinneen and Alex Healy Byrne. Earlier, the Leesiders had beaten Sligo/Leitrim 2-0 with Leon Ayinde and David Cremin on the mark.

Local side, the Limerick and District Schoolboy League (LDSL), marked their return to the Kennedy Cup quarter-finals in emphatic fashion by also winning all three group games.

The LDSL set up Wednesday's quarter-final clash with Group 7 winners Kildare thanks to a clinical 2-0 win over West Waterford-East Cork in their final group fixture. Aisling Annacotty's Stephen Kiely grabbed both goals.

Joining Limerick District in the last eight are Group 2 winners Wexford, who secured top spot in Group 2 with an emphatic 4-0 win over Limerick Desmond in their final game.

First half goals from Eoin Whelan and Sam Norval sent Wexford, who led 2-0 at half-time, on their way.

Wexford will face Cavan-Monaghan in the quarter-finals, while the last eight line-up in the Kennedy Cup is completed by the meeting of the Dundalk and Donegal Leagues.

The quarter-finals, which will take place at 5pm on Wednesday, are preceded by fixtures in Kennedy Cup Trophy, Shield and Bowl competitions.

Kennedy Cup Day 2 Results:
Group 1
Kerry 1-0 Mayo; Cavan/Monaghan 5-1 Roscommon 1; Kerry 1-2 Cavan/Monaghan; Mayo 2-0 Roscommon

Group 2
Limerick Desmond 1-1 Clare; Wexford 4-0 Wicklow; Limerick Desmond 0-4 Wexford; Clare 1-4 Wicklow

Group 3
Galway 1-1 Kilkenny; Donegal 3-0 NEC; Galway 0-2 Donegal; Kilkenny 0-1 NEC

Group 4
Midlands 0-2 Limerick District; North Tipp 0-0 WWEC; Midlands 2-0 North Tipp; Limerick District 2-0 WWEC

Group 5
DDSL 7-0 South Tipp; Athlone 0-1 Carlow; DDSL 2-0 Athlone; South Tipp 3-0 Carlow

Group 6
NDSL 1-1 Inishowen; Dundalk 4-0 Longford; NDSL 0-3 Dundalk; Inishowen 4-0 Longford

Group 7
Kildare 2-0 West Cork; SDFL 2-0 Limerick County; Kildare 4-0 SDFL; West Cork 0-2 Limerick County

Group 8
Cork 2-0 Sligo/Leitrim; Waterford 0-2 Drogheda; Cork 2-0 Waterford; Sligo/Leitrim 3-0 Drogheda