Irish Referees welcomed at Áras an Uachtaráin


Irish Referees welcomed at Áras an Uachtaráin

President Michael D Higgins welcomed a number of Irish referees for a special reception at Áras an Uachtaráin.
7th Jul 2023

The ceremony was held to credit referees' fantastic contribution to sport in Ireland as the President praised their commitment and dedication to their various sports.

29 representatives from the Irish football referee community attended as the President spoke out against the ongoing challenge of abuse towards match officials.

The FAI launched the #NoRefNoGame initiative in August 2022 which saw a range of sanctions introduced designed to protect the referee. These new sanctions have helped to bring respect back to the forefront of how referees are viewed and treated by all involved in the game.

The referee representatives who attended the ceremony at Áras an Uachtaráin last week is below.

Sarah Dyas

AUL Dublin
John Watson
Ryan Flood

Eoin Faga
Jack Nolan
Krzysztof Michura

Kilkenny & District Soccer League
Eoin Walsh

League of Ireland
Michelle O'Neill

Leinster Senior League
John McCarthy
Kate O Brien
Sahin Yasar

Brian Cleary
Nancy Foley
Samir Brihi
Teresa Coughlan

Terry McParland
Danny Smith
George Young
Owen White
Pat Shorthall
Paula Brady

School of Excellence
Niall McLoughlin
Darragh White
John Hanney

FAI Staff
Ian Stokes
Lucas Keating
Rob Hennessy

Alan Singleton

Wicklow Schoolboys League
Andy Kavanagh