Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament underway

Limerick Desmond squad

Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament underway

The Under-15 Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament got underway on Friday morning at the University of Limerick Sports Campus.
28th Jun 2019

There was a full day of action in the tournament, with 22 games taking place from kick-off at 10am to the final whistle just after 6pm.

Each of the 22 teams, who come from all over Ireland, played two games to complete Rounds 1 and 2 of the group stages and the Trophy. 

The teams will be keen to follow in the foot-steps of Sligo/Leitrim who picked up the Under-13 Gaynor Cup in early June - this year the tournament is played over two weekends.

Group 1 could not be tighter – Cork are top but only on goal difference as all teams are on three points, each of Carlow, NECSL and Inishowen all won one game, along with the leaders.

Limerick Desmond are leading Group 2 having taken six points from the six on offer so far, MGL North have four points, Wexford have one, while MGL South have still to get their first on the board.

Like their younger counter-parts at the beginning of the month, Sligo/Leitrim have had an excellent start and are also on six points – South Tipperary and Donegal both have one win each and Waterford have yet to get a win or a draw.

And in Group 4, it’s Galway leading the way on six points, while Kilkenny and North Tipperary follow them on three each and Mayo suffered two losses.

In the trophy competition, it’s local side Limerick County who lead on goal difference from Midlands – Kildare and Clare are both on three, while Kerry and Mid Western have yet to notch any up.
Saturday will see all Round 3 games take place, along with the semi-finals of each competition.

2019 Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament Results – June 28

Group 1
Cork 5-1 Inishowen    
NECSL 2-1 Carlow    
Cork 1-2 Carlow
NECSL 2-4 Inishowen

Group 2
MGL North 3-2 MGL South
Wexford 0-1 Limerick Desmond
MGL North 2-2 Wexford
MGL South 1-2 Limerick Desmond

Group 3
Sligo/Leitrim 5-1 Waterford
Donegal 1-0 South Tipperary
Sligo/Leitrim 5-2 Donegal
South Tipperary 5-0 Waterford

Group 4
Galway     6-2 North Tipperary
Kilkenny 2-0 Mayo
Galway     3-0 Kilkenny
Mayo 2-3 North Tipperary

Limerick County 6-2 Kildare
Midlands 2-1 Mid Western
Clare 2-0 Kerry
Mid Western 0-10 Limerick County
Kerry 1-6 Kildare
Clare 3-4 Midlands