First day of action in Fota Island Resort Gaynor Tournament

2019 Gaynor day 1

First day of action in Fota Island Resort Gaynor Tournament

The 2019 Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament kicked-off on Saturday morning, with the Under-13 competition getting underway in the University of Limerick.
1st Jun 2019

This year the prestigious tournament will be played over two weekends – the Under-15s will compete at the end of June.

Today saw 20 games take place as every team in the competition played twice to complete Rounds 1 and 2 of the group stages and the Trophy. 

In Group 1 Midlands and MGL South can only be separated on goal difference with both sides having 100 per cent records after the first two games, Waterford and Limerick County complete that group.

MGL North top Group 2 with two wins from two, while Mayo have one win and South Tipperary and Wexford both have one point. 

It’s another tight affair at the top of Group 3 as Galway and Sligo/Leitrim both have six points, North Tipperary and Inishowen are also in that group.

And in Group 4, it’s still all to play for Cork and Donegal who have six points a-piece and are on the same goal difference, they are joined in that section by Limerick Desmond and Kildare.

In the trophy competition, its NECSL who lead the way with six points from the six on offer, Clare secured one win, with Longford and Kerry on a point each. 

It was an extremely competitive day of action, but was marked by a sense of fair play, with no referee showing a card on day one.

Sunday will see all Round 3 games take place, along with the semi-finals of each competition.

2019 Fota Island Resort FAI Gaynor Tournament Results – June 1

Group 1
MGL South 2-1 Waterford
Midlands 3-0 Limerick County
MGL South 2-0 Limerick County
Midlands 2-0 Waterford

Group 2
MGL North 6-3 Mayo
South Tipperary 0-0 Wexford
MGL North 3-2 Wexford
Mayo 3-2 South Tipperary

Group 3
Sligo/Leitrim 2-0 North Tipperary
Inishowen 0-4 Galway
Sligo/Leitrim 1-0 Inishowen
Galway 2-0 North Tipperary

Group 4
Cork 3-1 Kildare
Limerick 0-1 Desmond Donegal
Cork 2-0 Limerick Desmond
Donegal 3-0 Kildare

Longford 1-2 NECSL
Clare 2-0 Kerry
Kerry 1-1Longford
NECSL 3-2 Clare