Enniskerry claim WU14 Cup for first time

Enniskerry win cup.jpg

Enniskerry claim WU14 Cup for first time

ENNISKERRY FC secured the Umbro FAI Women's U14 Cup for the first time after a dramatic late finish in the excellent surroundings of Eamon Deacy Park to secure them a 2-0 win over a gallant Cregmore/Claregalway side.
24th Mar 2015

Enniskerry FC 2-0 Cregmore-Claregalway FC

The goals came in the last minute of normal time when a free kick by Jess Morrisey from the right hand side of the box went all the way to the net. With the fourth official indicating two minutes of additional time Cregmore/ Claregalway pushed forward but we caught on the break when Isibeal Carolan found Roisin McGovern inside the box and she made no mistake in wrapping up the victory.

Enniskerry opened the brightest and in the 10th minute McSovern hit the post after a good run. Niamh Moran had the best opportunity for Cregmore when a free kick just drifted wide and then the impressive Sinead Donovan went on a great run before the defence crowded her out.

Enniskerry then went close with two efforts, the first from Morrisey after Carolan set her up and then Alannah McEvoy was just off target.

Cregmore ended the half the better  with Kate Slevin flashing a long distance free kick just wide and Chellene Trill forcing Alannah Melia into a last ditch goal saving tackle.

The second half saw both sides really going for it and Cregmore’s Sinead Donovan began to pull the strings in midfield. However Enniskerry were probably just playing the better combined football and Carolan and McEvoy linked to set up McGovern whose effort was just wide.

Donovan played in Slevin for a great Cregmore chance but the excellent Enniskerry defence again held firm.

Cregmore then lost Andrea Thrill with a knee injury after she landed awkwardly and she was replaced by Shauna Brennan.

As the large vocal crowd, supporting both sides were thinking about extra time Enniskerry got the vital breakthroughs for those late goals to take the Cup.

Cregmore / Claregalway’s Sinead Donovan was named Player of the Match and was presented with her trophy by WFAI Competitions Committee member Brid McGinty.

ENNISKERRY FC: Amy Cahill, Aimee Maher (Laura O’Toole 73), Hailey Longstreet (Aoife Murtagh 73), Alannah Melia, Kerriann Murphy, Nicole Keogh (Shauna O’Carroll 62), Roisin McGovern, Jess Morrisey, Isibeal Carolan, Alix McNally, Alannah McEvoy.  

CREGMORE-CLAREGALWAY FC: Karen Connolly, Amy Walsh, Sinead Murray, Caitlin Quinn, Andrea Trill (Shauna Brennan 58), Chellene Trill, Niamh Moran, Rhiann Heery, Kate Slevin, Sinead Donovan, Aine  Murphy.

REFEREE: Brian James (Midlands Branch).