Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa capture Futsal crown

Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa capture Futsal crown

Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa, Cork, captured the Colleges and Universities Futsal Cup today in the BRL UMBRO Futsal Arena in Ballymun, beating UCC 3-1 with goals from Craig Duggan, Roy Payne and captain Eoin Forde.
22nd Apr 2009

This competition was held in four regions in March with twenty three teams. The competition was open to all clubs who played in the CUFL competition this year.

Six teams from the regional events progressed to the National Finals which took place in the new UMBRO BRL Futsal Arena in Trinity Comprehensive, Ballymun, Dublin on Monday 20th April.

Two group stages were held to prepare for knock-out games with Athlone IT impressing in group one winning both their games. The quarter finals saw ITT Dublin beaten 5-2 by Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa after a thrilling contest and University of Limerick exiting 2-0 to pre tournament favourites Trinity College.

The semi finals were enthralling affairs with Athlone IT edged out 4-3 after leading twice and levelling at 3-3 in injury time. In the second semi final UCC beat Trinity College 3-2 in a very tight tactical game.

The final brought together the two Southern representatives UCC and Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa in very close game with some excellent skill and high energy from both teams with late goals from Craig Duggan, Roy Payne and Eoin Forde cancelling out Padraig O'Brien’s goal for UCC.

After the game IUFU President Terry McAuley presented the Futsal Cup to Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa captain Eoin Forde. Winners of the National Final Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa will now be invited in association with CUSAI to enter the 6th European Universities Futsal Championship which will be organised in Podgorica (Montenegro) from July 20-26, 2009. ( and

The competition was organised by FAI Colleges and Universities Coordinator Gerard Dunne, FAI Futsal Cordinator Derek O'Neill, FAI International Assistant Manager Stephen Finn, FAI Futsal Referees Coordinator Gerry Behan and FAI third level football facilitators Maz Sweeney (Athlone IT), Stephen Griffin (University of Limerick), Greg Yelverton (University College Cork), Barbara O’Connell (Cork IT and CSN), John O’Carroll (DIT) and Barry Prenderville (NUI Maynooth).