Clare defeat Leinster SL to claim Oscar Traynor Cup

Clare win Oscar Traynor.JPG

Clare defeat Leinster SL to claim Oscar Traynor Cup

Clare & District League claimed the FAI Oscar Traynor Cup in a cracking final at Crumlin's Pearse Park.
8th May 2016

Leinster Senior League 2-5 Clare & District League 

In what could be described as an excellent game of football which had its fair share of thrills and spills the Clare & District League put on a excellent display to lift the 2016 FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy in Pearse Park. 

Both leagues had come in to the final in good form but it was the front two of Clare that grabbed the headlines with Eoin Hayes scoring the first after five minutes from the penalty spot he then turned provider and set up Man of the Match David Mc Carthy with his four goals. 

Clare raced in to a two goal lead before the Leinster Senior Leagues Chris  Strraessle scored from the penalty spot to leave the Clare team going in to the break two one up. The Leinster Senior League couldn't of gotten off to a worse start when Referee David Jameson sent off Eoin Lanigan in the 50th minute for a dangerous challenge. Mc Carthy sent Clare 3-1 up before Straesssle pulled it back to 3-2 and Clare looked to be in trouble, however as the Leinster Senior League searched for a equaliser Clare caught them twice on the counter attack to finish the tie 5-2 winners. 

Both Leagues can feel proud of their players for giving the large crowd such a wonderful entertaining game in excellent conditions. 

Leinster Senior League: Evan Gaffney, Ian Cloone, Carl Redmond, Derek Griffin, Graham Dixon, Brian Mooney, Chris Straessle, Dermot Kennedy, Eoin Lanigan, Ian Touhy, David Dempsey, Gavin Mc Ardle, Aaron Stedman, Gareth Byrne, Daniel Mc Guinness, Daniel Loughran, Robert Gaynor, John Paul Kelly. 

Clare & District League: Barry Ryan, Darryl Eade, Eoin O' Brien, Alan Kelly, Paddy Purcell, Darren Corry, Colin Smyth, Stephen Kelly, Eoin Hayes, David Mc Carthy, Eoin Whelan, Joe Collins, Sreven Carroll, Mark Roche, Cathal Mc Conigley, Brian Monaghan, Colin Nelson, Arek Mamala.

Match Officials: David Jameson, Carl Doyle, Owen White, Gavin Colfer (Wicklow) Referee Observer Terry Mc Partland.