Cabra ETB win Bobby Smith Cup


Cabra ETB win Bobby Smith Cup

Cabra ETB are the 2020 Bobby Smith Cup Champions after a 2-1 win over Irishtown ETB on Wednesday afternoon at the FAI National Training Centre
6th Feb 2020

Cabra shaded the first half with a close range goal from Katlego Mashigo from a corner from Luke-Wade Slater. Cian Walsh should have equalised for Irishtown with a great chance just shortly after.

The second half was much more even with the two teams having chances. Irishtown ETB were much improved from their first half performance and went level with a goal 20 minutes from time from Jamie Wynne, after a Thomas McLoughlin pass.

Minutes from full-time, Alex O’Hanlon was brought down in the box and the penalty was put away by Ray O’Sullivan to earn the 2-1 win. There was some very performances from both teams with Mashigo being named man of the match.

The standard of the Bobby Smith Cup is improving every year, producing some very good players from all eleven centres throughout the country. The combination of full-time training and competitive games in their respective ETB FAI Academies proving an excellent pathway to professional football both here and overseas.