Bobby Smith Cup: Clondalkin and Carrigaline win


Bobby Smith Cup: Clondalkin and Carrigaline win

Clondalkin ETB and Carrigaline ETB both won in the most recent round of the Bobby Smith Cup, earning their first wins of the campaign.
26th Feb 2018

Last year's runners-up Clondalkin (pictured above) defeated Cabra 3-0 to win their opening game of the campaign.

After only 15 minutes, Clondalkin’s Jordan Adeyamo was tripped in the penalty area. The referee awarded a penalty which Adeyamo stepped up and took himself.  Cabra’s ex-Celtic goalkeeper, Kalvin Geraghty pulled off a fantastic save down to his right to keep the score at 0-0.

Cabra enjoyed most of the possession but couldn’t break down a well organised Clondalkin defence led superbly by Marcel Kuty and Ciaran Kelly at its heart.

Just before half-time, Cabra’s Thomas Quinn was forced into a misplaced pass which Jordan Adeyemo latched onto and placed the ball into the back of the net to open the scoring and in a tight game Clondalkin just about deserved their lead.

Cabra continued to press at the start of the second with Ryan Graydon and David Gilshenan causing all sorts of problems but Clondalkin defended resolutely.  After the hour mark with nothing between the teams, Andrew Farrell skipped past two defenders to stand the ball up for Nathan Osborne to power home a header past a helpless Geraghty. 

Cabra pilled on the pressure but with minutes remaining Clondalkin broke down the right hand side with Andrew Farrell again cutting inside and this time sending a low placed shot into the net from a tight angle, ensuring the win for Clondalkin ETB.

Defending champions Carrigaline enjoyed their first victory of the season with a 2-0 win against Limerick.  Chances were at a premium in a high paced first-half with Limerick going close through Trevor Hogan and Andrew Kennedy following some great work by Alan Keane.

The home team took the lead on the hour mark when a low cross from Colin Lemass was finished at the near post by the lively Brendan Kenny.  In a game where both midfields wrestled for control, Limerick pushed for an equaliser and Hogan again skimmed the post from 18 yards. At the death, Kenny sealed the win for Carrigaline with his and his team’s second goal from a very similar move.  A low cross from the right, this time turned in from a central position.

Irishtown are top of the table, and the only team with a 100% record, with two wins from two games.

SSE Airtricity League Watch

In the opening weekends of the SSE Airtricity League Premier and First Divisions, current or former ETB trainees were involved in 14 of the 18 matchday squads. Among those to feature was former Carrigaline trainee Darren Dennehy who scored Limerick's winner in a 1-0 win away to Sligo Rovers.