Bobby Smith Cup: Carrigaline are champions

FAI ETB Carrigaline.JPG

Bobby Smith Cup: Carrigaline are champions

The Bobby Smith Cup is headed to Cork after ETB Carrigaline beat ETB Clondalkin 2-0 at Carlisle Grounds on Tuesday.
28th Jun 2017

Clondalkin 0-2 ETB Carrigaline 

Mick Conroy's Cork outfit had most of possession in the first half in a very entertaining game but failed to break down a very resolute 'home' defence which was well-marshalled by Dolapo Lawal. Cal Sheehy opened the scoring mid way through first half. 

Clondalkin created the better opportunities as Sam Afolabi went close after a right wing pull back from Glen Fullam and Eoin Devereux got in on goal a few times but failed to hit the target.

The game was more even in the second half with Clondalkin's Leon Foley's long range free-kick being well saved by the Carrigaline goalkeeper.

Claudio Silva was very prominent for Clondalkin in the middle of the pitch and sent Dean Longhi away on the left hand side on a few occasions.

Substitute Ryan McCarthy side-footed home a corner from Graham Bogue in the final minute to wrap up the victory for Carrigaline. 

Man of match for the winners was Ben O'Riordan at the heart of the defence with Evan Galvin also putting in a top display in midfield.