Belvedere claim FAI Umbro U17 Challenge Cup

Belvedere claim FAI Umbro U17 Challenge Cup

Belvedere claim FAI Umbro U17 Challenge Cup
16th May 2010

Carrigaline United   0 - 0   Belvedere
     (Belvedere won on pens after extra time)

Dublin side, Belvedere FC today (Sunday) defeated Carragaline United from Cork on penalties after both sides played out a goalless but action packed FAI Umbro U17 Cup final in Turners Cross.

Republic of Ireland underage international, Craig Sexton was Belvedere’s hero as he made the match winning save in the penalty shoot-out after striker, Graham Parkinson converted Belvedere’s final spot-kick.

Carrigaline started brightly and they dominated the opening exchanges with Jaye Cephaf and Kieran Doran causing Belvedere’s defence problems early on.

Belvedere should have taken the lead in the 37th minute when a long ball from the defence beat the Carrigaline back-line which allowed Christopher Forrester to run through on goal but his shot from ten yards was well saved by Padraig Flynn who cleared the danger.

Carrigaline had a glorious opportunity to take the lead in the 70th minute when substitute, David O’Callaghan headed over the bar from six yards under pressure from Irish international, Craig Sexton.

It was the Dublin side who dominated proceedings in the second half and they had a number of chances to put the game beyond Carrigaline with Sean Skelly and Keith Feely going close.

Belvedere midfielder, Christopher Forrester should have scored the winning goal in the dying moments of injury time as Keith Buckley whipped in a cross from the right and Forrester who was unmarked at the back post cannoned his header off the post.

The game went to penalties as neither side could find the net in the allotted 90 minutes or extra-time. Both goalkeepers gave their sides every opportunity to win the shoot-out with Belvedere’s Craig Sexton saving three penalties and Padraig Flynn from Carrigaline saving two. It was Sexton however who made the match winning save for Belvedere from Ryan Kiely to give the Dublin side the title.

Carrigaline United:
Padraig O’Flynn, Ken Creagh, David Kinsella, Ryan Kiely, Cian McGovern, Andrew Healy, Chris O’Callaghan (C), Shane Griffin, Jaye Cephaf, Thomas Kent, Kieran Doran

Substitutes: David O’Callaghan, Tom McGuinness, Niall Kelleher, Darren O’Keeffe, David Drinan, Conor Drummond Andrew Moynihan.

Craig Sexton (C), Mark Roache, Anthony Corcoran, Roberto Lopez, Kevin Feely, Keith Buckley, Sean Stewart, Sean Skelly, Martin Broaders, Graham Parkinson, Christopher Forrester.

Substitutes: Sean Prizeman, Peter Flood, Jayson Ivory, Kealan Dillon, Darragh Lenihan, Lee Brandon.

Eric McCarthy