AUL claim Oscar Traynor Trophy at Inishowen’s expense

AUL claim Oscar Traynor Trophy at Inishowen’s expense

AUL (Dublin) 3 Inishowen League 1
7th Jul 2013

AUL (Dublin) 3 Inishowen League 1

The Dublin AUL made Junior history today when they won the FAI Umbro Oscar Traynor Trophy with a 3-1 win over the Inishowen League with Kilbarrack United’s Mark Townley getting a brace of goals and Sheriff’s Darren O’ Brien also getting on the score sheet.

The AUL started the more confident of the two sides and Inshowen were content to let the AUL move the ball across the back without ever carving out a clear chance and it was Inishowen who created the better openings in the first half with Mark Hatton having to react quickly to Doherty’s shot by pushing the ball on to the post.

The Donegalmen looked to have completed a job well done but with 46 minutes gone on the clock Townley beat the offside trap to round the goalkeeper and finish coolly to put the AUL one up at half time.

Inshowen tried in the second half to put the AUL under pressure but the defense marshaled by the brilliant Paul Murphy were always in control and with John Meleady pulling the strings in the middle Inshowen found it difficult to create an opening.

Inshowen went two down in the 70th minute went Darren O’Brien scored and ten minutes later the AUL went three up when Man of the Match Mark Townley got his second with an excellent finish.

Inishowen did manage to pull one back with six minutes to go when Mc Laughlin scored from a free kick which was some consolation for a very gallant Inishowen side.

AUL: Mark Hatton, Daniel Byrne, Paul Murphy, MarK Mooney, Paddy Brophy, Darren O’Brien, Sean Murphy, John Meleady, Mark Towmley, Alan McCabe, Dean Carpenter, Aaron Humphries, Gavin O’Brien, Sean Beresford, Ciaran Ryan, Gavin Gaughran, Liam Tiernan.

Inishowen: Martin McLaughlin, Stephen McLaughlin, Jason Devlin, Michael Byrne, Gerard Mc Eleney, Terence Doherty, Patrick McDermott, Shane Canning, Nigel McMonigle, Conor O’Brien, Anthony Doherty, John McLaughlin, Conor McLaughlin, Brendan McLaughlin, Shaun Doherty, Damien Barr, Michael Devlin, Jonathan Noone.

Referee: Joseph Dyas. Assistant: Brendan Gillispie, Brian Murphy. 4th Official: Gary Donnelly (Louth).