Abbeyfeale United earn FAI Club Mark

Club Mark Template.jpg

Abbeyfeale United earn FAI Club Mark

Limerick's Abbeyfeale United are the latest club to earn the FAI Club Mark.
9th Mar 2021

Founded in 1984, the club's grounds are situated on the Railway Road. The club has two state of the art full size pitches, one with floodlights to match standard. The club house consists of three changing rooms, a meeting room, kitchen, toilets and a referee's changing room. The club colours are Royal Blue and White.

Abbeyfeale United's A-team have won numerous trophies, especially in the last decade: Munster League Champions Trophy in 2016; League Champions in 2000, 2007, 2011, 2015, 2016 and 2018; Desmond Cup winners in 1986, 1996, 2014 and 2015; Premier Division League Cup Champions in 2008, 2015 and 2017.

The B-team have won League titles in Division 2 and Division 3, as well as enjoying Cup successes in the League Cups, Reidy Cup and Richard Hogan Cup. Over the years the have had a number of players represent the club at underage and Junior international level.  Denis Behan played for Ireland at U-16, U-17, U-18, U-21 and U-23 levels. He played cross-channel with Hartlepool United and Brentford. At League of Ireland level, he played with Limerick FC and won the League and the FAI Cup in a very successful spell with Cork City. Former player Gavin Dillon played for Ireland at U-15 and has seven caps. Gavin also played with the Irish Defence Forces in the World Military Games in Wuhan, China in October 2019. Former player Chris Smith represented Ireland at Junior international level in 2017 and 2018. Former player and current A-team manager John Kelliher captained the Limerick Desmond's to their first ever Oscar Traynor win in 2008, Billy Quirke was also the first choice goalkeeper on the squad that year.

The Ladies team won the FAI Junior Cup and Munster Junior Cup in 2008, the Munster Intermediate Cup in 2009 and the Munster Senior Cup in 2010, as well as seven league titles, four Desmond Cups and three Premier Division League Cups.

At underage level the club has won numerous under-age trophies (league and cup) for both boys and girls, from U-8 to U-18. Abbeyfeale United were part of the underage boys league from its inception in 1992 and later the girls league from its inception in 2010. The club caters for both boys & girls from U-6's right up to U-18's, with over 250 players in the club between these age levels. In the adult section for both men and women the club has 70 plus members.  Over the years the club have had a number of underage players on both the boys & girls ETP centres. The club have also had players represent the Limerick Desmond Schoolboys/girls League on both Kennedy Cup and Gaynor Cup tournaments. The club also engages with the local schools, providing a platform for Primary Schools to enter the FAI SPAR Primary Schools 5-a-side competitions. In 2016 Dromtrasna NS won the County, Munster & All-Ireland competitions with all players being members of Abbeyfeale United FC. St. Mary's Boys School have also won County and Munster medals over the years.

The club would like to thank all the committee members, managers, coaches, players, club groundsman, volunteers, sponsors past & present who assisted Abbeyfeale Utd FC throughout the years to operate the club.

The FAI Club Mark is free and optional for clubs and aims to:

•          Improve the management of clubs ‘off the field’

•          Establish and promote best practice

•          Empower and support clubs

•          Recognise and reward clubs for achieving high standards

•          Increase a club’s capacity to operate effectively and grow football in communities throughout Ireland.

If your club is interested in learning more about the FAI Club Mark please complete this short Registration Form