2008 Fixtures & Results

2008 Fixtures & Results

16th Jan 2009

2008 Eircom League of Ireland Cup

History was created in the 2008 celebration by Wexford Youths who belied their position in the First Division of the League of Ireland by marching proudly to the final.

They hosted the final as well in Ferrycarrig Park, Wexford, to mark a significant day in the history of the club and of football in Wexford. But they found the challenge of the competition specialists, Derry City, too much to cope with.

Derry won the Cup for a remarkable fourth consecutive season on a 6-1 scoreline. Sammy Morrow was their goal-scorer in chief with three to his credit, Niall McGinn, with two, and Kevin Deery were also on the scoresheet.

Danny Furlong ensured that his name would be written into the record-books by scoring Wexford Youths only goal in reply.

The big occasion proved a little too much for a youthful Wexford team but they deserve credit for their achievement in reaching the final and in playing their part in making it a thoroughly enjoyable event.

Other clubs to create their own history in the 2008 competition were Kildrum Tigers and Sporting Fingal who made their debut appearances in the first round of the eircom League of Ireland Cup competition. First round ties in the four pools were played in the mid-week commencing Monday March 21.

Kildrum, from Donegal, found the step up a daunting one and they fell to Sligo Rovers in Pool B.  Dublin-based Sporting Fingal fared better for they drew with their eircom League of Ireland Division One rivals Shelbourne in Pool C and only went out after a penalty shoot-out.

The four eircom league of Ireland teams participating in this season’s Setanta Cup competition - Drogheda United, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Cork City and Bohemians - were afforded byes into the second round of the eircom League Cup.


RESULTS - first round


24/03/’08: Kerry League 1 - 1   Waterford United (AET)    at Mounthawk, Tralee
C. Kerins 30                 K. Browne 33
(Kerry won 3-2 on penalties)

25/03/’08:  Wexford Youths 1 - 0   Cobh Ramblers (AET)   at Ferrycarrig Park
Liam O’Loughlin 104.

Byes: Cork City, Limerick37

Second Round

05/05/’08: Wexford Youths 2-0   Kerry League   at Ferrycarrig Park
Conor Sinnott pen 41, 73
29/04/’08: Cork City 3 - 0  Limerick37   At Turner’s Cross


08/04/’08: Galway United 2 - 0   Longford Town    at Terryland Park
24/03/’08: Kildrum Tigers   1 - 6   Sligo Rovers at Dry Arch Park, Bonagee
Ronan Coyle pen          Mathew Judge (3)
Brian Cash,
Anto Murphy,
Romauld Boco. 

Also: Galway United v Longford Town
Byes: Derry City, Finn Harp

Second Round

05/05/08: Derry City 3-0    Finn Harps at the Brandywell
Conor Sammon 31, 57
Niall McGinn 48
06/05/’08: Sligo Rovers   0 - 0   Galway United, at the Showgrounds
Galway won 6-5 on penalties)


24/03/’08: Sporting Fingal   2 - 2   Shelbourne at the Morton Stadium
Karl Byrne 32                  James Chambers 65
Conan Byrne 90 + 3        Anto Flood 90 + 8 
(Shelbourne won 6-5 on pens)

25/03/’08: Dundalk 3 - 0   Monaghan United    at Oriel Park
Paul Crowley 22 
Tiarnan Mulvenna 34, 63

Byes: Bohemians, Drogheda United

Second Round

05/05/’08: Bohemians 4-0    Dundalk     at Dalymount Park
Jason Byrne 5
Harpal Singh 18
Chris Turner 25
Darren Mansaram 90
05/05/’08:  Shelbourne    0-2    Drogheda United at Tolka Park
Tony Grant 40
Shane Robinson 80


24/03’08: Bray Wanderers 3 - 0   Athlone Town at the Carlisle Grounds
Paul Dunphy 35  
John Mulroy 52
Emeka Onwubiko 90 +

24/03/’08: Kildare County    0 - 3    Shamrock Rovers at Station Road
Stephen Rice 20
Eoin Doyle 36
Robbie McCreevey 85

Byes: St. Patrick’s Athletic, UCD.

Second Round

21/04/’08: UCD 2 - 0   St. Patrick’s Athletic at the Belfield Bowl
05/05/08: Bray Wanderers 1-0    Shamrock Rovers at the Carlisle Grounds
John Mulroy 4

eircom League Cup quarter-final fixtures

The following were the results of the eircom League Cup quarter-final fixtures:

Quarter-final results:
01/07/’08; Derry City 4 - 1    Bohemians                                 
James McLean 41    J. P. Kelly 70
Conor Sammon 45, 56
Kevin McHugh 77

Galway United 3 - 0    Bray Wanderers                 
Derek O’Brien 16 pen, 21
Jay O’Shea 90

Drogheda United    0 - 2    Cork City
Dave Mooney 30, 80.

UCD    1 - 2    Wexford Youths.                                
Evan McMillan 72     John O’Flynn-O’Connor  43
Conor Sinnott   48

FAI eircom League of Ireland Cup 2008
Semi-final fixtures:

25/08/’08: Cork City   0 - 1   Wexford Youths, Turner’s Cross        
Paul Murphy 24  
04/08/’08: Galway United   0 - 2   Derry City, Terryland Park          
Sammy morrow pen 72
Niall McGinn 83

League of Ireland Cup final arrangements

Wexford Youths hosted the 2008 eircom League of Ireland Cup final and faced the defending champions, Derry City, who were chasing their fourth title in a row.

Derry showed all their experience as Wexford Youths found the occasion too much for them. Derry scored early and struck a peak of form to run out 6-1 winners. While the result was a disappointment for Wexford Youths, they could look back on a tournament in which they played some outstanding football and achieved some significant results. 

eircom League of Ireland Cup Final
27/09/’08: Wexford Youths   1 - 6   Derry City
Sammy Morrow 14, 28, 70    Danny Furlong 25
Niall McGinn 18, 30
Kevin Deery 26