Colleges and Universities squad named for friendly


Colleges and Universities squad named for friendly

The Colleges and Universities national team will welcome the Scottish Universities to Oriel Park on Monday afternoon.
8th Apr 2018

It will be the first game for the team since representing Team Ireland at the 2017 Summer Universiade in Chinese Taipei last August.

The last two encounters between the sides have brought victory for the Irish with an inspired performance from University of Limerick graduate Garbhan Coughlan delivering a 6-1 victory in Edinburgh last year.

Head Coach Greg Yelverton has recalled eight of the twenty-man squad that travelled to the island of Taiwan last summer, including DCU striker Alan O’Sullivan who narrowly missed out on tournament top goalscorer with five goals.

Yelverton, who was confirmed to be staying on in the role until 2019 last November, is excited of the prospect of locking horns again with the Scots. “It is the beginning of a new cycle towards the 2019 University Games. It is another opportunity for players to represent their country. The players know that from now they are competing to be on the plane to Italy. We were excellent against Scotland last year but we cannot rest on that performance as the Scots will be eager to even the score. I am hopeful that with the experience this squad has developed with me in the past two years and the additions of some excellent first year students we can come out on top once again.

The game kicks off in Oriel Park at 4pm.

Colleges & Universities squad
Matthew Connor (Waterford IT/Waterford FC), Lee Steacy (Dublin IT/Shelbourne).
Defenders: Maurice Nugent (NUI Galway/Galway United), Ross Taheny (DCU/Ballinamallard United), Liam Scales (UCD/UCD AFC),Sean O’Mahony (UCC/UCC AFC), Tristan Noack-Hoffman (DCU/Longford Town), Conor Kane (Maynooth University/Drogheda United), Shane Elworthy (IT Blanchardstown/Longford Town), Adrian Delap (Letterkenny IT/Derry City).
Midfielders: Conor Barry (NUI Galway/Galway United), Daire O’Connor (UCD/UCD AFC), Jason McClelland (UCD/UCD AFC), Shane Daly-Butz (UCC/UCC AFC), Darragh Noone (Dublin IT/Bray Wanderers), Danny O’Connell (Cork IT/Avondale United), Jamie Hollywood (IT Blanchardstown/Longford Town), Jonny Bonner (IT Carlow/Crusaders).
Forwards: Alan O’Sullivan (DCU/Warrenpoint Town), Shane Barnes (IT Carlow/Wexford).