Australia squad named for Ireland friendly


Australia Head Coach Pim Verbeek has selected a 22-player squad for the upcoming international friendly match against the Republic of Ireland in Thomond Park, Limerick on Wednesday August 12 (7.30pm).

There are debut call-ups for Oliver Bozanic, Aaron Mooy and Nikita Rukavytsya but some familiar faces from English football are included.

Fulham goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer and Everton playmaker Tom Cahill make the squad, along with Lucas Neill, who played for West Ham United last season and is currently in contract talks with the London club.

Former Leeds United and Liverpool winger Harry Kewell, now with Turkish side Galatasaray, is also in the selection, as is Celtic striker Scott McDonald.

This will be the second game between the nations; the previous match in August 2003 at Lansdowne Road resulted in a 2-1 victory for the Irish.

The Qantas Socceroos have already secured their place at the 2010 FIFA World Cup by winning Group A of the 4th round Asian qualifiers, ahead of Japan, Bahrain, Qatar and Uzbekistan.

Australia squad: Mark Schwarzer, Ante Covic; Patrick Kisnorbo, Lucas Neill, Rhys Williams, Jade North, Matthew Spiranovic, Adrian Madaschi, Luke Wilkshire; Mark Bresciano, James Holland, Dario Vidosic, Tim Cahill, Nick Carle, Aaron Mooy, Harry Kewell, Oliver Bozanic, David Carney, Mile Jedinak; Scott McDonald, Brett Holman, Nikita Rukavytsya.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site