2017 FAI Festival of Football Awards Winners


2017 FAI Festival of Football Awards Winners

Following a terrific week in Kilkenny as part of the Football Association of Ireland's Festival of Football, the Delegates Dinner took place in Hotel Kilkenny where grassroots football was recognised with a number of awards.
21st Jul 2017

As part of the lead up to the FAI's Annual General Meeting, the Festival of Football has visited a different county for each of the last 11 years to showcase the superb work being around at grassroots level.

This year the destination was Kilkenny, where an FAI delegation that included current and former Republic of Ireland internationals visited 24 clubs, where fun days, coaching clinics, and presentations took place across the county, while the FAI supplied funds, equipment and Ireland match tickets. 

The Delegates Dinner provided the opportunity to recognise people from around the country for their excellence in coaching, communications, club structures, administration, and women's football.

For the Club of the Year Award, eight nominees were given the opportunity to present to a panel of judges. Amongst the clubs were Boyle Celtic (Roscommon), Carrick United (Tipperary), Cahir Park (Tipperary), Peake Villa (Tipperary), Evergreen (Kilkenny), Manorhamilton Rangers (Leitrim), Portlaoise (Laois), and Carrigaline United (Cork).

Here is the full list of winners:

John Sherlock Services to Football
Jimmy Corrigan (Ballinahown FC)
Simon Baker (IAFA and EAFF)
Frank McEvoy (Killeigh Schoolboys & Schoolgirls)
Patrick McDonnell (Walshestown FC)
Christy Ginnety (Trim Celtic)
Sean O'Keefe (Asdee Rovers)
Mike Rice (Asdee Rovers)
Dave Connolly (Geraldines AFC)
Michael Geary (Galway Football Association)
Richard McSweeney (Portlaoise AFC)
John Corrigan (Kilkenny District League)
Michael Hennessy (Evergreen FC)
Sean Murphy (Nurney Villa FC)

Communications Awards
Best Feature: John Kenny (RTE)
Best Photograph: Ramsey Cardy (Sportsfile)
Best Digital Initiative: Cork City FC
Best PRO: John Hudson (Colleges & Universities)

Noel O'Reilly Coach of the Year
Richard Holland (Cork Schoolboys League)

Jeremy Dee Services to Women's Football Award
Tina Murphy (Passage West SC)

Services to Football Club Merit Award
Conal Kavanagh (Arranmore United)

FAI Club of the Year Merit Award
Carrick United

FAI Club of the Year
Carrigaline United