Erasmus+ Study Groups


Erasmus+ Study Groups

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s (EU) programme for education, training, youth and sport, with the EU committing €12 billion to the programme between 2014 and 2020.

The Football Association of Ireland uses the Erasmus+ funding to aid the development of key members of staff, coaches, volunteers and stakeholders in a number of different areas.

Through study group visits to other National Associations and clubs, the FAI course participants have been able to achieve the following:

- Improvement of skills and knowledge in key areas such as Coach Education, Club Development, Disability Football, Futsal and Women's Football
- Fostering of community links where workshops have been delivered to youth groups and multi-national individuals within specific areas
- Experience of working in different environments and learning how to master new techniques and approaches
- Progression in respective careers and establishment of network of key contacts within football

Since the first study group trip in December 2015, 62 individuals have benefitted from the expertise provided by the English FA, Scottish FA, Valencia CF, Slovakian FA, German FA and SL Benfica. 

2015: English FA - Coaching Conference
Greig Paterson, Ruud Dokter, Gerard Glynn, Robert Sweeney, Gerard McDermott, Ross Kenny, James Scott, Ian Hill

2016: Scottish FA - Club Development, Disability Football, Women's Football
Barry Gleeson, Vincent Foley, Emma Martin, Clare Conlon, Gerard Reardon, Peter Doyle, Nick Harrison, Oisin Jordan

2016: Valencia CF - Coach Education, Futsal, ETB
Derek O'Neill, Jamie Wilson, William Doyle, David Lenane, Paul Whelan, Martin Doyle, John Morris-Burke, Miriam Malone, Sean Byrne, Shaun Maher, Stuart Ashton, Stephen McNutt, Colin O'Brien, John Crudden, Warren Bolger, Paul Turpin

2016: Slovakian FA - UEFA Women's Under 19 European Championships
Sue Ronan, David Connell, David Bell, Mazz Sweeney, Adrian Carberry, Pat Behan, Frank Kelleher, Eileen Ring, Declan Bollard, Shane Murray, Christy Lougheed, Pat Trehy

2016: German FA - UEFA Under 19 European Championships
Niall O'Regan, Tom Mohan, Martin Doyle, Dermot O'Neill, Mick Neville, Ray Claffey

2016: SL Benfica - Coach Education, Futsal
Paul Doody, Paul Breen, Stephen Rice, Garry Coady, Darren Murray, Gary Power, Karen Gleeson, Michael Feeney, Michael McCarthy, David Hill, Robbie Hammond, Gerry Davis