Farrell double seals U14 Cup for Longford Town

FAI Umbro Women's U14 Cup Final
Colga 0-2 Longford Town

Michelle Farrell (2)
Sunday, August 30th 2009
Terryland Park, Galway

Farrell double seals U14 Cup for Longford Town

Striker Michelle Farrell struck twice as Longford Town captured the FAI Umbro Women's U14 Cup this afternoon at Terryland Park against a Colga team which battled right to the final whistle.

Longford dominated the first half and carved out several clear-cut chances before finally breaking the deadlock four minutes before half-time when Farrell ran clear on to a long ball over the top from Karen Delaney and kept her composure to tuck it past the advancing goalkeeper

Just before the half-time break Farrell struck again when she lost her marker and tucked away a well delivered Aoife Darcy corner from the edge of the six yard box with her right foot.

Colga were a different team in the second half and Longford had to defend in numbers as the Galway side, inspired by midfielders Keara Cormican and Leah Philips, tried to get back into the game.

But they couldn't find a way past Bethaine Houldsworth in the Longford goal while at the other end Umbro Player of the Match Farrell was denied her hat-trick by a magnificent point blank save from Saoirse Burke.

The Umbro FAI Cup trophy was presented at the end of rhe match by the Chairperson of the WFAI, Niamh O'Donoghue, to Longford skipper, Sarah Shannon.

Colga: Saoirse Burke; Mary Heavey, Jenny Linnane, Linda Corcoran, Alana Moran; Sinead Heavey, Keara Cormican, Leah Philips, Lisa Casserley; Ana Lane, Rachel Bannon. Subs: Eleanor Stafford for Rachel Bannon, Jenny Kinnane for Lisa Casserley.
Unused Subs: Donna Hanrahan, Veronica Finn, Rosemary Walshe, Chloe McGann, Amy Hooban.

Longford Town: Bethaine Houldsworth; Sarah Shannon, Michelle Masterson, Ellie Collum, Leanne Keegan; Aoife Darcy, Aisling Reynolds, Karen Delaney, Aisling Cosgrove; Elaine Murphy, Michelle Farrell. Unused Subs: Hannah Duggan, Donna Masterson, Aideen Mimnagh, Eimear Heaney, Muireann Mulcahy, Aoife Johns, Rachel Cheevers.
Referee: Trevor Conlon. Assistant Referees: Vincent Carew, Mary Comerford. Fourth Official: Paul McGrath.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site